Strings - what do you use, where do you get yours and how much do you pay?

What's Hot
HaychHaych Frets: 5628

When I started playing strings were relatively inexpensive, I suppose they still are but my local branch of PMT is now charging £8:30 for a set of D'addario 10-46.  Always handy if you need them in an emergency but quite expensive otherwise, especially if you have lots of guitars and/or change strings often.

My internet quest to find the cheapest strings (still D'addario) ended in a bit of a surprise - I expected the likes of StringBusters and Strings Direct ect to offer best prices but even they were near enough £6.00 a set for multi-buy.  Richtone Music in Sheffield, however, are selling packs of ten for £43.00 delivered!

OK, there's a few days wait (I guess they're delivered direct from the wholesaler) but it still works out at almost half price per set what PMT are asking.

There is no 'H' in Aych, you know that don't you? ~ Wife

Turns out there is an H in Haych! ~ Sporky

Bit of trading feedback here.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• axisusaxisus Frets: 28333
    I used to buy cheap sets for £5 from Coda until the b*stards left town! Now I buy cheap sets from eBay.

I couldn't spend £43 on strings no matter how good the deal was
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • AustrianJohnAustrianJohn Frets: 1679
    I use Fender 150R (10s) that cost just under £5 from Thomann.
  • HaychHaych Frets: 5628
    axisus said:
    I couldn't spend £43 on strings no matter how good the deal was

I know what you mean but I was working out how much I was spending on strings recently and was quite shocked so I just bit the bullet.