Ebay.com slashing fees on guitar gear

What's Hot
HeartfeltdawnHeartfeltdawn Frets: 22107
edited May 2017 in FX

https://tamebay.com/2017/05/ebay-com-slash-fees-for-guitars-amps-and-accessories.html

I'd say that it's all down to Reverb gaining ground. 

Will we see it here? Maybe. But it'll still be the same old shitty Ebay we all know and love/tolerate/hate/your feelings here. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• BorkBork Frets: 255
    I would agree - I've been keeping an eye on Reverbs progress for the last 5 years.  They started off by stealing Ebay traffic.  eBay have tended to target higher volume commercial sellers too rather than private sellers and Reverb's pulling the rug from underneath them through clever use of Ebay's API.

[This space for rent]

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Makes sense. I can't speak for everyone but EBay has become the absolute last resort for selling something due to the ridiculous fees. Definitely be more likely to use it now if they roll it out here. 

I'd imagine it's also impacted sales as so much gear is now overpriced on eBay due to the seller working the fees into the prices. It also encourages people to list on eBay and sell outside to avoid fees. 
  • UnclePsychosisUnclePsychosis Frets: 12885
    I've never had a problem with ebay so this is good news. Although they've been doing regular cheap listings offers for ages anyway. 

Plus, they don't run puff pieces bigging up known scammers. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • TheMarlinTheMarlin Frets: 7818
    I've had too many bad experiences with eBay.  I'll buy, but I won't ever sell there again.  

The last straw was a fully functional/serviced valve amp that went to Italy.  Scumbag claimed it was faulty, eBay refunded him, and he kept my amp.  Zero recourse for me, the seller.  
    0reaction image LOL 3reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom