Passive vs active pickups

sorry if this is a stupid question but I'm quite new to the whole electro acoustic world. 

I have an old takamine electro and have never been quite that happy with the plugged in sound so I managed to pick up a fishman rare earth sound hole pickup which sounds awesome but is much quieter than the onboard preamp/pickup. The fishman is passive however. Is it normal for passive pickups to be much quieter than active ones?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LewyLewy Frets: 4124
    Yep, totally normal for a passive pickup to be quieter than an active one.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 71952
    edited June 2017

I have an old takamine electro and have never been quite that happy with the plugged in sound so I managed to pick up a fishman rare earth sound hole pickup which sounds awesome but is much quieter than the onboard preamp/pickup. The fishman is passive however. Is it normal for passive pickups to be much quieter than active ones?
    Yes - 'active' means the pickup has a built-in preamp.

I'm not 100% sure about the connections, but it should be possible to run the Fishman through the existing Takamine preamp - that way you get the best of both worlds. (It varies on some models, but if you're lucky it will be a 2.5mm mini-jack, so you would just need to shorten the Fishman cable and fit one of those to it.)

I'm not normally a fan of onboard electrics, but in fact the usual Takamine preamp has no known reliability problems (unlike some others) and since there's a whacking great plastic box in the guitar already you may as well use it...

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Just because I don't care, doesn't mean I don't understand." - Homer Simpson

• martmart Frets: 5205
    ICBM said: