Country Guitar

What's Hot
hotpickupshotpickups Frets: 1819
I've recently found an old Country guitar tuition dvd in my library. So thought I'd put it on and have a go. I'm mainly a Blues/Rock guitarist so my guitar set up is set up for this. So that means in my case I use 11s on my les paul which creates problems with some bends using the first finger on some double stops in this country style. I guess the answer is country guitarists use a lighter string gauge? 

Another thing I noticed in this particular DVD is all the demos are in A and use open strings in pull offs up the neck. It would be hard to pull them off if it was in another key. Is A the most popular key for country? 

I am by no means going to change tack and become a country guitarist but the sound has always intrigued me but not enough to study / commit to it.
Link to my trading feedback:  http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/59452/
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16293
    In one of the Greg Koch interviews he has a bit of a go at country guitarists who have patterns worked out around open strings that are 'stunt' licks that only work in certain keys. I thought yes how terrible, now where can I learn them...

Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
    2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • RockerRocker Frets: 4978
    Could you please list the details of the DVD.  I am interested in country guitar.  Lots of stuff in in the key of A.....
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. [Albert Einstein]

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

• hotpickupshotpickups Frets: 1819
    Rocker said:
    Could you please list the details of the DVD.  I am interested in country guitar.  Lots of stuff in in the key of A.....
    It's a couple of Albert Lee lick library DVDs @Rocker ;
  • FreebirdFreebird Frets: 5821
    edited July 2017