Valve swap EL84 to CV4043

normula1normula1 Frets: 640
edited July 2017 in Making & Modding
So, I've always had a hankering to try a 6V6 valve in place of an EL84 but have always balked at the idea of cutting an octal hole in my chassis to achieve it.
Recently I came across the CV4043 which is a ruggedised version of the 6BW6 which in turn is apparently a 6V6 in a B9a bottle.

I've zero experience with beam tetrodes so before I bugger something up and get loud banging noises accompanied with the smell of fried electronics, am I correct that to fit the CV4043 in place of an EL84 I'd need to swap pins 9 to pin 8 on the socket or is more / less complex than that?

CV4043

EL84

I managed to get the CV4043s for £5 a pop at Langrex so thought it worthwhile a punt
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72311
    You also need to connect pin 9 (suppressor grid) to pin 3 (cathode), which is done internally in the EL84.

Be careful that there's nothing connected to pin 1 on the socket as well as pins 6 and 8 - this is IC (internal connection) not NC (no connection). Some modern amps use pin 1 as a component support, usually for the grid stopper resistor to pin 2, because many modern EL84s seem to be made with it as a NC… which works fine, until you put a NOS EL84 in the socket and it does something nasty, blowing the valve and sometimes damaging the amp.

Other than that I *think* it should work OK…

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• normula1normula1 Frets: 640
    edited July 2017
    Thanks @ICBM. It was the pin 9 to 3 that was flumoxing me.