Can an amateur drill neat, straight screw holes for tuners? Which affordable drill to buy?

What's Hot
Much like my thread about soldering gear, I'd like to get some opinions on drilling. I want to fit some gotoh tuners to a tokai neck, exactly as detailed on this page, but I have no experience doing anything like that and I don't want to make a mess of it. I have a few other guitars that could do with better tuners, that don't have standard mounting patterns so I could spend a lot to get a luthier to do it for me so I'm trying to save a few quid by learning to do it myself.

Can I (the amateur) drill straight, neat screw holes just through being careful, taking it slow and having a guide for the straight perpendicular holes?

If so, which affordable, readily available (amazon, argos, etc.) quality drill is worth buying?

I know maple is particularly hard, and am ready to be told "get someone else to do it" so don't hold back.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FX_MunkeeFX_Munkee Frets: 2477
    it's not really the drill for that job it's using a straight edge correctly and taking your time. Any old drill used slowly and carefully will be fine. Marking out is the bit you need to take the real care over.
    Shot through the heart, and you’re to blame, you give love a bad name. Not to mention archery tuition.
  • RavenousRavenous Frets: 1484

To start the hole I use a small (around 1mm) drill bit, held in a small chuck - one with a hex shank that goes in a handle from a screwdriver set.

The chuck has a long (300mm) socket set extension on it, so you effectively have a silly-length screwdriver/drill bit.

It's clumsy but the extra length makes it easier to keep your hand in one place while turning the driver.

Or maybe look for a tapping stand - a more professional version of what I'm describing.

• Winny_PoohWinny_Pooh Frets: 7768