How many points on your licence?

What's Hot

Comments

• BidleyBidley Frets: 2926
    Bidley said:
    CHRISB50 said:
    Zilch, but I had to do a speed awareness course last year.
    Exactly this.

Got caught doing 57 in a 50. On an unoccupied, perfectly straight country road.
    OK, so I'm a new driver, but this comes up often (several times in this thread already), and it always confuses me a bit. We all know that speed limits don't change when the road's empty (OK, motorways aside), and we all know that people can easily just appear from being a car or hedge, so...why does this always get mentioned when someone's caught speeding?
    For my statement, it was less about the unoccupied part, and more about the straightness of the country road.

I always assume speed limits are for public safety. But this road has no junctions (it was surrounded by fields) or bends. It runs alongside a dyke which I suppose is why the limit is in place.

I think doing 30 in a 20phm limit outside a school is a bit more heinous than driving next to a dyke and some fields.

I know you're about to chastise me (being a new driver and hence the tests/lessons are more fresh in your mind), but I'm well aware that I was caught, and I admit to wrongdoing. I'm just miffed because I wasn't affecting anyone or anything.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 26561
    Bidley said:

I know you're about to chastise me (being a new driver and hence the tests/lessons are more fresh in your mind), but I'm well aware that I was caught, and I admit to wrongdoing. I'm just miffed because I wasn't affecting anyone or anything.