Bass Amp Advice Please

What's Hot

Comments

• A rehearsal room ive been to uses a Laney and its sweet
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • MrBumpMrBump Frets: 1244
    ICBM said:
    Whichever Fender Rumble Bass combo you can afford. They really punch far above their weight - even the little 25W one.

I would avoid the TC, I have seen several faulty ones, as seems sadly common with all their modern products.

The 50W Eden might be enough at the sort of volume you're talking about. If not, you can pick up a large number of older bass combos in the 100-300W range, usually with either a 12" or 15" speaker, for very cheap nowadays. Laney, Peavey, Trace Elliot and others all made many models in this sort of size and most are easily available in good working order for £100 to £150. The reason they're cheap is that they tend to be heavy.

Also avoid all Ashdowns - they aren't nicknamed 'Breakdown' for nothing.
    I've got a Rumble 500.  I'm a guitarist first, and a bass player second.  The Rumble is really, really good, to my ears.  Gets very loud if you want, can be matched with an additional cab for more loud.
    Mark de Manbey

Trading feedback:  http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/72424/
  • RockerRocker Frets: 4979
    Depends on your budget and expectations but you won't go far wrong by choosing a Markbass combo.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. [Albert Einstein]

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

• Duppy03Duppy03 Frets: 104
    Great feedback, thanks all.

Because my budget is so low (£100) and I wouldn't have space for a combo (without selling a guitar amp first) I'm probably best off waiting to see if gigs on bass become more of a regular thing, but I know what to look for now when I'm ready to do so.
    edited November 2017