Where to start with theory / best place to learn theory?

What's Hot
I've been playing guitar for about 4 months now, completely self taught, but know absolutely nothing about any theory. Where would be the best place to get a basic understanding of it. Had a look at a few things online, and being honest still didn't completely understand all of it. Thanks in advance, would appreciate any pointers
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Justinguitar. His website and his Youtube vids. Also recommend buying his beginner and intermediate books. Not a lot of theory in these, just what you need to know early on. Pick your way through these and enjoy them.

I'd recommend his books in any case, would have saved me a lot of hassle when starting out. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • wis @camoflamingo Justin is good.

Having said that,
    scale theory, chord construction etc is what it is regardless of your instrument and while you do need practical advice for your instrument, sometimes a more abstract approach can help. You might find books aimed at piano players or sax players to be good with the concepts, even though they won't tell you where to put your fingers.
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
  • www.musictheory.net is a good site with practical tests to apply your knowledge. Also make sure you apply it to the guitar too e.g intervals and chord formulas.
  • Theres a brilliant podcast called guitarmusictheory,com by Desi Serna its brilliant!!! he explains stuff really clearly, i found it great because i could listen to it in the car on the way home from work then go and try the stuff out