Slide Guitar...

What's Hot
IvisonGuitarsIvisonGuitars Frets: 6838
in Technique tFB Trader
Right,

Looking for tips, tricks, hints, tunings for a total newbie to Slide guitar. I've got a cheap glass slide from some magazine years ago and all I can really do with it is make the strings buzz against the frets and get a load of unwanted overtones from the other strings.

I play Americana/Country/Roots as apposed to Blues.

In my head I want to be Derek Trucks but in my hands i'm Derek Trotter.....

So, how do you do it?
http://www.ivisonguitars.com
(formerly miserneil)
1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Jimbro66Jimbro66 Frets: 2429

Until you have plenty of experience of slide playing put heavier strings than normal on your guitar and raise the action a bit. It might then need a truss rod tweek.

To reduce overtones drag the other finger(s) lightly on the strings behind the slide. Not a hard-and-fast rule but playing with your fingers rather than a pick allows you to mute strings that you don't want to sound. This is pretty essential if playing slide in standard tuning.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • munckeemunckee Frets: 12354
    I'm no master in slide but found it easier to tune to open D tuning, practice some basic riffs, (I used dust my broom by Elmore James) to get the technique of muting behind the slide and then transpose to standard tuning.

I think I used this as a starter

• slackerslacker Frets: 2236
    Brass slide for beginners
  • Give up on slide and buy a pedal steel, you’ll find you are getting better results more quickly with less frustration...you may also find your slide playing has improved no end when you return to guitar. :)
  • pumkinpumkin Frets: 136
    edited November 2017