C18Q1. Learning to read music notation

What's Hot
and a little music theory. I have always played music 'by ear'. Accordion, penny whistle, mouth organ, piccolo, guitar - all try it and squeeze out a tune. Recently I have taken to the bass and this has alerted me to the fact that I know little music theory. I don't want to be a copyist player, watch something on YouTube and learn it off, but to contribute to the sound of our little band. Something musical, something of me into the sound.

So I got a book on how to read music. At 61 and going on 62, my book learning ability is very reduced. I always found it difficult to learn from a book. As an apprentice electrician, I read about Ohms Law. Basic stuff but until someone explained it to me, it never really made any sense. Same with music theory.  I will be joining a music lesson class sometime in January. The teacher recommends using a keyboard to help the learning process. Old keyboard obtained also an X type keyboard stand.

The work starts today.
Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. [Albert Einstein]

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TTonyTTony Frets: 27437
    Interested in whether you find it helps.

I'm another who's never learned to read music ...
    Having trouble posting images here?  This might help.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • m_cm_c Frets: 1233
    As somebody who learnt keyboard long before playing guitar, what theory I do know, I find far clearer/visualise better on a keyboard/piano context than guitar. I suspect the big reasons are, notes only exist on one place on a keyboard, and it's far easier to find that place on a keyboard.
    I'm still rubbish at reading the bass clef though.