slapping

What's Hot
dannyt484dannyt484 Frets: 0
I'm not a massive fan of slapping, although I love Flea's lines, but as I've been playing for a few years now I guess I'd better start adding it to my repertoire - you never know when you might need it. Anybody got any cool ideas on how I should go about starting?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72241
    Stand in front of a mirror, and apply the palm of your hand to the side of your face, hard.

Repeat until you don't want to do it any more.

:)

I'm hardly an expert since I use it as sparingly as possible normally, but I do it using my thumb knuckle, with a sort of fast rotating movement. Don't know if that helps or not...

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

7reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16293
    I learned a thumb up technique but these days people seem to use the thumb down position. I’d probably look for the slap lessons on Scott’s Bass Lessons on YouTube. 
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14410
    dannyt484 said:
    Anybody got any cool ideas on how I should go about starting?
    Go back to the source.

You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • RockerRocker Frets: 4978
    One question: why?
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. [Albert Einstein]

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • BridgehouseBridgehouse Frets: 24579