Buying into the UAD ecosystem

What's Hot
What do those tFBers who have bought into the UAD way of doing plugins think now they've had some experience?

I'm just starting out, having just bought a forumite's Apollo Twin Duo to attach to my Mac Mini (i7, 16GB). I was about to go for an RME interface (400 or 800 or possibly a UCX). But then the Apollo came along, and it was worth it as an interface, with the included UAD plugins (the usuals, plus Lex 224, Ocean Way Studios, Friedman amps, etc), being a useful bonus. Not sure I really need 5 types of compressor/limiter and 3 EQs, but I won't know until I try, I suppose.

I did the research and was surprised to see that you cannot sell plugins separately, and so you often see the same interfaces with >$5000 worth of plugins. It's a scary thought - to buy so much software and be locked into the UAD ecosystem. On the UAD forum, the inability to sell plugins seems to be the biggest gripe.

Any advice from other UAD users?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33725
    edited May 2018
    Yes, you cannot sell plugins separately, which is a masterstroke for Universal to keep selling plugins.
    It is also why they can keep investing in plugins and continue to release new stuff whilst a lot of other manufacturers are struggling.

I'm invested in UAD- I have an Apollo 16, a pair of UAD2 Octo's and an Arrow.
    I own almost all of the plugins too but it isn't actually my main recording system because IMHO the converters are not quite up there with the best of the best.
    I use the UAD still to track some stuff (mostly guitars and bass) with but mostly to process audio plugins before I go to the mix stage, where I go to HDX.
    I understand this is pretty typical, or at least not entirely unknown.

Basically, either get onboard and understand if you want to get out then you have to sell the system complete, or don't.