Noisy Board - Problematic Korg Pitchblack

What's Hot
deloreandelorean Frets: 224

Just thought I’d share this in case it helps anyone out.

For the past few months I’ve had some excessive noise (hiss) coming from my rig on my dirty channels. 

Checked all my pedals and cables, but couldn’t pinpoint it at all, it was very odd… however it didn’t occur when I was just plugged directly into the amp - regardless of which cable I used.

I’m very impatient, and in the end I gave up and just tolerated the noise as it wasn’t audible once I started playing.

But last night the source of the problem finally came to light.

The Korg Pitchblack has a DC jack output to allow you to daisychain power to another pedal from it.  So I was powering the Pitchblack from my VoodooLab PP2+, and then powering my Flashback Delay from the Pitchblack’s DC out.

Stopping this silly practice and powering the Flashback from its own output on the PP2+ immediately solved the issue!

So I guess either the Pitchblack is giving out dirty power, or perhaps not enough consistent juice to whatever is being powered off it.  

It may be just mine, or it may be an inherent problem with the Pitchblack, I'm not certain - but hopefully this might help someone else out!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LestratcasterLestratcaster Frets: 1087
    edited May 2018
    It might be cos of the Korg tuner powering the other pedals there’s a ground loop somewhere causing the noise. It helps to get a decent dedicated power supply which has idolafed outputs. I use the T. rex fuel tank junior and it’s great.

Then again it could just be then Pitchblack being dodgy.
  • BranshenBranshen Frets: 1222
    Daisy chaining and digital effects (flashback in your case) frequently causes problems. You may be able to daisy chain a simple analog distortion/overdrive with low current draw to the pitchblack with no issues. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom