Action higher after changing strings?

What's Hot
Switch625Switch625 Frets: 576
edited October 2018 in Acoustics
I picked up a budget Squier acoustic on Sunday evening from ebay, Played around with it for an hour and was happy other than the fact it needed new strings. Yesterday evening I put on a set of 13's which is all I had but since then the action just seems a lot higher than when I first got it.

I'm guessing the original strings might have been a lower gauge and the neck is being pulled by the extra tension? Today I've looked up truss rod adjustments as I've never done any set up work before, and I've turned the rod a couple of quarter-turns anti-clockwise but it hasn't made much of a difference. From the second/third fret the string height just goes up and up.

What should I do to get it back to how it was? I'm pretty disappointed now with how high the action is as it makes it difficult to play. It played fine with the original strings!

I don't know how to embed an image but here's a pic - http://tinypic.com/r/1235euv/9

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 71963
    edited October 2018
    It's most likely the new strings - the standard string gauge on most acoustics is 12s, and there's a fairly big difference with 13s.

But to straighten the neck you need to turn the truss rod nut clockwise not anti-clockwise - you need to be tightening it.

Check the straightness of the neck by holding the guitar in the normal playing position and fretting the G string at the first fret with your left hand and the 15th with your right. Look at the gap between the string and the 7th fret - it should definitely be less than the string diameter, and preferably just less than about half that.

And don’t be afraid of adjusting it by a lot more than a couple of quarter turns, if necessary - one or two *full turns* of the nut is not that unusual.