Oh dear, I can't play standing up!

What's Hot
axisusaxisus Frets: 28285
For years I would always choose to play standing up, I just liked it better. I'm my old age some years back I took to sitting on the cab in the small utility room that I generally play in. I actually decided to stand up again the other day and it completely buggered my playing! Sitting seems to angle the guitar slightly upwards with the front face so that I can see a bit more of the top. I found that standing I was trying to play with my right leg forward so that I could lean the guitar back a tad on my leg!

I need to get some practice in. Gotta be less lazy
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Paul7926Paul7926 Frets: 227
    As a noob I often wonder if I should spend some practice time standing up rather than sitting.  The couple of times I've tried standing up I've done exactly what you describe because I'm used to being able to see the fretboard.  
  • munckeemunckee Frets: 12326
    I played at the water rats jam earlier this year and had to practice playing standing up as had never done it before.  I make a point of varying it up now to get more used to it.  Managed to play a bit of lead standing up at the hertford jam last month!
  • carloscarlos Frets: 3445
    This is what helped me fix the same issue:
    1. Sit down in a comfortable playing position
    2. Set your strap while sitting down so it's neither loose nor  tight
    3. After standing up try to find a way the guitar hangs that mirrors your sitting down playing position - the height will be okay
    4. Besides practicing standing up, you can also practice sitting down with the strap on so the position of the guitar is similar