Trumpet advice

What's Hot
Hey - just got myself a trumpet. As a complete beginner, any brass players got any advice? I will probably invest in a few lessons to get off to a good start but if anyone has any hints or tips, I'd love to hear them.

I also need a recommendation for a practice mute!

;-)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• dogloaddogload Frets: 1495
    wave100 said:

I also need a recommendation for a practice mute!

;-)
    How about this? ;)

3reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • sev112sev112 Frets: 2739
    Don’t blow hard 
    try and make a clean note with as low pressure in your lips as you can 
    a good tip is to listen to your tone.  Set up your phone to record and the hold a note for as long as you can.  Then listen back, it’s quite ear opening :)

tone gets substatially better when when you can actually get the brass (unless you’ve bought a plastic) vibrating , as opposed to squeezing a note down the tubes and out of the horn.  The exercise above will really help that, as you start to build strength in your stomach muscles and your lips.  

And if if you have never been taught, learn how to breathe properly.  Lay on your back. Put a thick book on your upper part of your stomach . Breathe in, and your stomach should LIFT; breathe out and your stomach should DROP.  Make long breaths in and long breaths out.

re embrouchure, there is a little bit of tip of the tongue in there - it isn’t all just your lips . The tip is just behind the back of the inside of your lips.  Keep your lips closed and prepare to make a “t” sound.  Then, while keeping your tongue there, slightly open your lips .  It will come out as a “p”, but your lips will be much more stable than just blowing with a “wh” sound.

finally, when your lips are knackered, give up for the evening and read some theory.
  • wave100wave100 Frets: 150