Complete noob. Some pointers on how to start recording.

What's Hot
Well, not a complete noob...I used to own a Boss multitrack recorder that had a built-in CD burner, and have recorded things, but I had no idea what I was doing re. mastering, mix down etc.

I’d really like to get back into recording myself, but don’t know where to start.

I see Boss do a multitrack still (BR 800) that seems like it would do me okay?

However, in the past, I used to plug directly into the recorder and use the onboard effects, but now as my setup is better, I want to record the sound of my Line 6 Helix and my amp....so I’m guessing I need to mic that up?

And that’s about everything I know.

What are my options? I don’t want to make a record, just stuff for my own enjoyment. Also, I don’t want to get bogged down with sitting at a machine for ages....I’d like something fairly simple and/or intuitive to a newbie.
I don’t have a gambling problem, I’m winning, and winning is not a problem for me. That’s like saying that Iron Maiden have an awesomeness problem.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• spark240spark240 Frets: 2073
    The Boss BR is pretty limited by current standards,...I’ve done some good recordings on them but a PC and small interface offer so much more.

Do you have PC / Mac / Laptop ?

Mac Mini M1
    Presonus Studio One V5
     https://www.studiowear.co.uk/ -
     https://twitter.com/spark240
     Facebook - m.me/studiowear.co.uk
    Reddit r/newmusicreview 
  • spark240 said:
    Do you have PC / Mac / Laptop ?
    I have a very good laptop.
    I don’t have a gambling problem, I’m winning, and winning is not a problem for me. That’s like saying that Iron Maiden have an awesomeness problem.
    Ok...so assume you are able to use that for recording ?...you can check software or free demos from Logic, Presonus, Reaper, Ableton, all have good packages , you will need an interface for all of these.

Mac Mini M1