Advice & suggestions wanted - teaching a teenager who likes old school soul, not classic rock

What's Hot
close2uclose2u Frets: 997
edited March 2019 in Technique
I'm teaching a youngster who likes old school soul stuff and name checks Nile Rodgers as a guitar player he likes.
He is a complete beginner so I'm going to start with all the usual basics of open chord formation, rhythm etc.
I don't know many soul songs myself.
And I want some good song suggestions to use to teach him along the way please.
I started him off with a first lesson on simple chord formation with A, D, E, chords.
I intend getting him on to some simple 4/ 4 rhythms soon.
Ideally I want to select some dead simple 2 or 3 chord songs using those chords without having to change the original keys on software. Something he can play along to with those three chords and simple down strum patterns at first.
So …
Gimme recommendations for some old school soul / Motown / R&B etc using easy beginner chords A / D / E possibly in a 12 bar style progression but not necessarily.

Thanks.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• martmart Frets: 5205
    edited December 2018
    If he’s a Nile fan, then he needs good right-hand technique to get the rhythm, and good muting on his left. 

Personally I’d be tempted to ditch the cowboy chords and go straight to some partial chords higher up the neck. The riff for Le Freak, for example, can be approximated in quite a simple two finger way using only the 5th and 7th frets, where the only chords are single finger partial barres - one finger holding down the D, G and B at the 5th, etc.

That should give him something he can recognise, and get enthused by, to inspire him to work on the muting and the rhythm. Then build on that by showing how the fuller chords are formed, etc etc.

Theres a whole book devoted to Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards parts, it might be worth hunting down to get more examples: