Help me get a better Mac for recording [edited]

ijontyijonty Frets: 32
edited December 2018 in Studio & Recording
It's time to replace my 2012 Macbook Air.

I use it every day for work - I'm a freelance writer so it needs to be portable for taking to different offices.

I want to buy a Pro or Air that can comfortably handle music too.

My current one struggles despite a recent clean install: http://thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/132460/update-not-enough-wallop-processing-power-for-making-music

Therefore would I buy one of the brand new models, or is there an earlier model that I'd be better off getting second hand?

I've been told that this eBay seller for example sells quality stuff:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/macansysltd/m.html?ssPageName=&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2654

My current spec that I want to considerably improve on is:

MacBook Air Processor: 1.7 GHz Intel Core i5
memory: 4 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 4000 1536 MB

(I've no idea what any of that means)

At this stage I'm not looking for alternatives to a Mac. I'm keen to stick with Apple as that's what I like using for work. I don't want to get a second machine purely for music either.

Would really appreciate some advice.

Telecaster American Deluxe, Cornell Romany amp, without the talent to use them properly
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• andy_kandy_k Frets: 818
    IMHO, I wouldn't like to recommend anything other than the last upgradable macbook pro, which has pretty much same specs as yours-except for the memory and drives. I picked mine up on here--13 inch 2009 macbook pro, which came with a 500gig SSD, and an unresponsive cd drive, so I pulled that out, and put a 2 tb rust disc in. At the same time I stuck 16 gig of ram in there, and its working fairly well for me -using reaper, and most projects are using at most 25% of resources.