How do you know when frets are worn?

What's Hot
robgilmorobgilmo Frets: 3363
I ask because I was looking at a photo of my guitar and I think they look worn , they are vintage, or Japanese early 70's so I assume they are vintage, do these look like they have been worked on? To me they look quite flat on the top, but its very consistent, have they been worked on , worn or are they just supposed to be like that?

A Deuce , a Tele and a cup of tea.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• skunkwerxskunkwerx Frets: 6838
    No idea if genuine wear or someone has levelled them without reprofiling, but they sure do look flat on top. 

I cant be much help as I have no experience of vintage frets, but I would reckon there should be some crown there.. gotta play and sound better that way.. unless of course vintage frets are indeed supposed to be quite flat like that... 

I've been unhelpful. 

Sorry.. 
    The only easy day, was yesterday...
  • robgilmorobgilmo Frets: 3363
    Thats Ok, I thought they looked a little flat too, it plays really well but I do notice the low fret profile and as a result tend to play it quite gently , which I dont mind at all. For something that was built in 72ish there is no noticeable fretwear which makes me think either it was just not played or the frets have been worked on. The only guitar thats the same model that I have found is owned by someone on a Face Book group I am a part of, he described his frets as badly worn.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 71963
    Those have definitely been dressed quite heavily - or more than once - and not really re-crowned enough, although not too bad... but at least they have actually been crowned!

There’s probably just about enough height left for a better crowning if you’re careful not to take the tops down, but after that it will need a refret.