Gordon Smith Classic "S"

This was a long review, but I've just cut a load out because I was 700 characters over!!!

Maybe I'm weird, but ever since I started playing the guitar in the late 1980's I've always wanted to own a Gordon Smith guitar.  I like the back story behind the brand, I like the aesthetics and company ethos.  I was a fan of Billy Bragg back in the day, and remember the god-awful sound he used to get from his guitar.  Reports of variable construction quality didn't really bother me, as people told me that when they made a good 'un it was really good!

I'm not much of a humbucker person, so when my wife said I was allowed to get another guitar, it was always going to be a strat.

After a Facebook chat with Pete at GS, I decided to take a day off and travel up to Northampton to try out a few of their instruments.  The whole interaction with the company was really positive, super friendly.

The workshop/showroom was pretty much what I expected... very small workforce, but some nice examples of mostly Gibson-esq guitars hanging on walls in their showroom.  The closest to a strat they had in was a really nice tele - that guitar showed me that the build quality, finishing and sounds were easily comparable with Fender/American made guitars I'd been testing, so I placed an order.  Estimated build time was 8 weeks.

The spec was a Gordon Smith Classic "S", roasted maple and ebony neck, swamp ash body, finished in Nene Blue.  "Nene Blue" is a misnomer; I used to live near the river Nene, and it was never as pretty as this guitar.  I added in stainless steel frets to the order (as Shakin' Stevens' guitarist was in the showroom at the time, and he convinced me of their worth...), plus locking tuners.  Total was around the £1.5k mark.

After just a week and a bit I started getting drip fed info from Pete via Facebook about the progress of the build, and then he messaged me this: