How to record fx pedals into Interface/DAW

What's Hot
MagicPigDetectiveMagicPigDetective Frets: 3024
edited February 2019 in Studio & Recording

I'm new to recording and somewhat confused on this, sorry if it's blindingly obvious. With the exception of micing an amp, what methods are there for recording pedals with a DAW? Can you plug any pedal straight into an interface? Or would you need a specific pedal, for instance the Joyo JF-13 AC etc, which has a cab emulation? Or end the pedal train in some kind of DI or preamp unit? Do you need to take care what you plug into an interface, given the various power supplies and voltages etc with pedals?

My set up is Ipad - Itrack Solo - Garageband. My pedals are not getting much attention, it would be great to be able to use them on garageband, especially the Despatch Master, DOD Rubberneck and Source Audio Gemini.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• andy_kandy_k Frets: 818
    I just got a Mooer radar, to have a play with, and tried to match my amp tone, to my pedals through a PA at the last rehearsal. The idea is to use this as a B rig.
    My amp is a Marshall code 50, loud, with a Plexi-Guvnor setting, I like it a lot.
    My pedals are a Sansamp flyrig, MXR 5150 OD, and a TC HOF reverb, into the Radar--into the PA.
    Without the Radar, the pedals sounded -as you'd expect a pedal into a PA to sound, awful, With the Radar, I got great results with the 5150 and HOF, very close match to my amp, I used an ABY pedal to flip back and forth.
    My point is, you will need something like the Radar, which is an IR / power amp simulation, I wasn't sure if the pedals would be ok, as they are not strictly pre-amps, and the flyrig could get you to the end of a gig as an emergency measure, but takes a bit of fiddling to get the right sound.