First Jam As A Bass Player!

What's Hot
MrBumpMrBump Frets: 1244
So this week I'm going to attend an informal jam as a bass player!

I'm a pretty good guitarist and - like all guitarists - I think I can play bass too...  Only I can't, I've still got a long way to go..  Still trying to get my head into locking into a groove with a drummer.

Anyhoo - I'm quite excited about this.  The more I play bass (and the more I listen to the bass parts of tracks) the more I understand what I don't know.  My timing has definitely improved.

Nervous too though...  I can usually breeze though a guitar jam/rehearsal..
Mark de Manbey

Trading feedback:  http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/72424/
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14412
    MrBump said:
    like all guitarists - I think I can play bass too. 

Nervous though.
    Don't sweat it. The guitarists at your jam will probably pay so little attention to the bass guitar parts that you can get away with almost anything.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
    2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
  • Don't forget to pack your Big Muff!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • fretmeisterfretmeister Frets: 24201
    Don't worry - someone will be along in a minute to tell you that you can only play root notes.

Forever.

Not even Adam Clayton sticks only to root notes (close, but not always).
  • MrBumpMrBump Frets: 1244
    Actually, I'm OK with root and fifth... at least I know where I am with the chords!  But when you attune your ears to the bass parts, there's loads more going on than I ever realised.
    Mark de Manbey

Trading feedback:  http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/72424/
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • John_AJohn_A Frets: 3775