Guitar Tech/maintenance courses

I am really keen to learn how to set up and maintain my guitars better. I can do a basic intonation set but have never adjusted the truss rod, re cut the nut, soldered in new pickups, dressed frets etc.

eventually I want to have a go at building a guitar but for now have been looking around at coursss centred around guitar maintenance.

The crimson guitars course looks great, anyone got any experience of it? Any other recommendations? 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• KalimnaKalimna Frets: 1540
    I have no experience of the Crimson Course to offer, and whilst I know of the course run by Montys Guitars, Im afraid I havent been on that one either, so cant comment except to say it's there!
    Good luck,
    Adam
  • JerkMoansJerkMoans Frets: 8794
    I too am interested in this: any of the v talented fettlers on the forum run anything like this?
    Inactivist Lefty Lawyer
  • Jon Shuker runs one. I’ve never been on it but I’ve been happy with the work he’s done on my instruments.

http://shukerguitars.co.uk/courses/

• HaychHaych Frets: 5629

I've been on the Crimson course.  It's pretty good but be warned it's a bit rough round the edges and not at all what you'd expect. Seriously, it's chaos, goodness knows how they churn out such high end stuff. It certainly blows the glamour of guitar building away - it's brings home with a bump that building guitars on any scale is an industrial and shitty business.

You'll get to meet some good people though but most there will probably be on much longer guitar build courses.  I felt a bit like the rookie because I was only there two days with a cheap guitar to unfuckup.

I learned a lot, though and would generally recommend it.  Feel free to PM me if you have any questions you'd like to ask.  There's a nice guest house about a mile down the road if you're staying over too. 

There is no 'H' in Aych, you know that don't you? ~ Wife