Good short scale beginner bass?

What's Hot
Calum13Calum13 Frets: 37
I’ve been playing guitar for a couple of years now, but I’m looking for a bass for studio work. My current guitars are a Squier VM jag and an epiphone sheraton II. I’ve been looking at several basses and decided short scale is the way to go for me. So far I’ve seen the Hofner Ignition Club bass, the Ibanez talman and the epiphone embassy (not sure if short scale) What’s everyone’s thoughts on these and other suggestions? Preferably trying not to go over £300.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14323
    edited February 2019
    Squier VM Jaguar Bass Special short scale version. Should be readily on eBay well within budget.

The Squier Mikey Way signature bass is a Mustang with an EMG35-sized pickup. This makes it easy to upgrade to professional quality electronics.

The Ibanez Mezzo has won quite a few friends recently.

Cort makes a ¾ Action Bass. Ibanez Mikro, Jackson Minion, Gretsch G2224 Junior Jet Bass II, blah, blah.
    Be seeing you.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • axisusaxisus Frets: 28280
    Not sure why you think short scale would be your thing? I bought a Squier Jazz some years back secondhand and I think it is a great bass for the money, not short scale though
  • JezWyndJezWynd Frets: 6021
    The Hofner Club is a nice bass with a very defined sound (v similar to the violin bass) but is perhaps not the best choice for studio work as its bridge makes accurate intonation difficult and when recording may be noticeable.
    Tired, old flatwound strings would go a long way towards disguising the intonation issues. ;)

Sadly, this forum's number one Höfner Ignition Bass fiend has been conspicuously absent for several months.
    Be seeing you.
  • Bought a Mex P bass.