NGD: "Best" nylon strings?

What's Hot
I've just taken delivery of a Yamaha NTX900FM, which I'm really loving. It sounds superb - their ART System 61 pickup system seems pretty good.

At some stage, I'm going to want to change the strings, but I have no experience at all with nylon strings.

Can I get some advice, eg. what sort of thing to look for, any recommendations, etc?

Cheers,

R.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• D’Addario EJ45 are one of the most popular sets. Very consistent quality, neutral tone and reasonable price. I’d probably start with them and see how you get on.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • D’Addario EJ45 are one of the most popular sets. Very consistent quality, neutral tone and reasonable price. I’d probably start with them and see how you get on.
    Thanks, I'll check them out.

I should probably add that I'll be using it amplified mostly, playing TexMex/Country/Latin-style music mostly, eg. Mavericks, Steve Earle, etc.

Cheers,

R.
  • sev112sev112 Frets: 2758
    I’ve been using d’addario pro arte (black) flamenco strings for the past year or so for a change, and I think they sound great
  • WhistlerWhistler Frets: 322
    I should probably add that I'll be using it amplified mostly, playing TexMex/Country/Latin-style music mostly, eg. Mavericks, Steve Earle, etc.
    In which case you might find hard tension classical strings suit you better if normal tension classical strings feel too sloppy. Look at D'Addario's Pro-Arte range, eg. EJ46 (which I use) or EJ50 (as sev112 uses).
  • Whistler said:
    In which case you might find hard tension classical strings suit you better if normal tension classical strings feel too sloppy. Look at D'Addario's Pro-Arte range, eg. EJ46 (which I use) or EJ50 (as sev112 uses).
    Thanks - I was wondering about that. I do find the current strings a little sloppy.

Thanks,

R.