What Finish?

What's Hot
I'm just getting into my second build, a Tele with a Poplar body and maple neck. It has a slightly "eccentric" shape in a couple of places such as the lower bout and the lower part of the headstock thanks to over-enthusiastic routing requiring some heavy-duty sanding. That said, i'm quite pleased with it so far.

Anyway, what finish should I use? I have several guitars with a Tru-oil finish and fancy a change. I have some black hard wax oil and a couple of types of wood stain. What do you reckon?

http://i1121.photobucket.com/albums/l512/dean2371/photo_zps1b29d958.jpg
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• dean2371dean2371 Frets: 139
    its very unusual for folk on here not to have a view!
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • CorvusCorvus Frets: 2925
    tFB Trader

I read it, but there's so many choices and folk like certain things, plus Teles look great in so many things. Wax & stain sounds good. I like 'em all ways from straight ash in lacquer to flaked & candied to hell, it's all good. Keep the progress pics coming :)

• TTonyTTony Frets: 27432
    To my eyes, the grain pattern on the body isn't wonderfully striking and looks a bit multi-coloured (unless that's shadow on the bottom section?).

How about considering a veneer (there's a great tutorial on veneering in the theFBChallenge sub-section) or maybe Wudtone to even out the colour variation and accentuate the grain pattern that you've got.
    Having trouble posting images here?  This might help.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • GagarynGagaryn Frets: 1553

Since you are looking for opinions, I'll give you mine - good old fashioned paint in a colour of your choice. :-)

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72245
    Black.

What was the application again…? Oh a guitar. OK. Still black.