Nomad's 12-String Tele Build

No idea if I'm too late for this, but I figure I might as well put my build diary in here since I'm using a kit from the same range as everyone else.

I guess a bit of relevant background is in order, since I just joined the forum. I've never built a guitar before, although I did refinish my first guitar (a Woolycaster that wasn't good enough to look like a strat copy, but looked much worse). I stripped it to bits, sanded it painted it with blue car paint and lacquered it with some clear stuff. I also worked the frets a bit and got the action nice and low. It was a horrible guitar, but it played quite nicely. Since then, I've done the odd bit of setup work, including stoning the frets on a cheap acoustic which ended up with an action that was much lower than is practical for an acoustic. I'm pretty good wiv me 'ands and my spare room is a decently equipped workshop for doing smaller scale wood and metalwork. I'm rubbish at spray-painting and have every intention of avoiding that during this build (already ordered a bottle of Tru-Oil). Anyway...

I decided I'd like to build something a bit different in terms of the guitars I have, or have played. Never tried a 12-string electric before, so I went with the 12-string "Knoxville" Telecaster style kit. Full marks to G4M - from ordering online to delivery into my grubby mitts was about 24 hours.