Dimarzio Chopper Wiring Query

What's Hot

Hi

New member here

I am new to doing mods / upgrades and as a first step bought a Dimarzio Chopper Rail Humbucker to replace the single coil in my Bridge. Initially no intention to coil split etc, just straightforward series wiring initially to see if I like it. Aware I’ll lose hum canceling at position 2 but this is a first step only.

I checked the pickup with my Multimeter prior to installation as per the Dimarzio schematic:-

RED (North Start) - Hot

BLACK (North Finish) + WHITE (South Finish) Taped together

GREEN (South Start) to Ground

BARE to Ground

RED to GREEN (Both Coils in Series) = 8.80 Kohm

RED to BLACK+WHITE (North Coil) = 3.80 Kohm

GREEN to BLACK+WHITE (South Coil) = 5.00 Kohm

However when I tie GREEN + BARE together as is (I assume?) normally required to ground to the Volume Pot, this reduces both coils in series output to 3.80 Kohm. I assume this is because it is effectively sending the South Coil to Ground?

Dimarzio does state that “...when connecting the BARE wire to ground, make sure it does not come in contact with any other connections”. How would this be practically achieved? Even if grounded separately on the Volume pot, it would still be effectively in contact with the GREEN (South Start) 

As a test I switched the wiring around as follows:-

BLACK (North Finish) - Hot

RED (North Start) + GREEN (South Start) Taped together

WHITE (South Finish) to Ground

BARE to Ground

This gave me the same outputs as follows:-

BLACK to WHITE (Both Coils in Series) = 8.80 Kohm

BLACK to RED+GREEN (North Coil) = 3.80 Kohm

WHITE to RED+GREEN (South Coil) = 5.00 Kohm

But….In this instance, when I tie WHITE + BARE together, both coils in series output remains at 8.80 Kohm…?

I purchased the pickup direct from Dimarzio so I’m confident it’s genuine.