Your number one jazz song recommendation...?

What's Hot
I'm just beginning to teach myself some jazz guitar after 25+ years playing and only flirting with it.  The thing is, where do you start?  So how about a list of great jazz songs from a guitarist's perspective...If you could name only one jazz track that you love to play/listen to, what would it be?  (Doesn't have to have guitar on it!)

I suppose I'd better start: Charlie Parker, Billie's Bounce
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JalapenoJalapeno Frets: 6385
    Anything by Duke Ellington - however Satin Doll is used by very many as a 251 learning tune so it can grate, and lot's of people don't like it because of that.
    Imagine something sharp and witty here ......

Feedback
  • JAYJOJAYJO Frets: 1526
    The only one ive heard of is So What (I think Miles Davis)and its Dm all the way through so you could jam over that!
  • bigdawgbigdawg Frets: 51
    so what by miles davis
    Alfie by sonny rollins
    Blue Train by John Coltrane
    Sidewinder by Lee Morgan

All quite easy to learn or work out by ear
  • MegiiMegii Frets: 1670
    edited January 2015
    Can't really pick one out as a favourite, but I always like minor key tunes, so I'll say Yesterdays - it has enough harmonic movement to be interesting, but it tends to lead the ear in a natural way, and not too tricky.

Actually "I Should Care" is a nice one too...
    Also "What Is This Thing Called Love" is another that I like a lot, good at faster tempos.
  • hobbiohobbio Frets: 3440
    Autumn Leaves.....

Also, I'm fond of Tune Up and Summertime.

electric proddy probe machine

My trading feedback thread

• bigjonbigjon Frets: 680
    All Of Me - full of II V Is and they go a lot slower than Satin Doll
  • rprrpr Frets: 309
    edited January 2015
    Not sure if this could adapted for guitar, but it's a cracking tune