Alternate tunings

What's Hot
hobbiohobbio Frets: 3440
In an attempt to use a couple of guitars that largely just sit there, I've decided to play around with different tunings. One will just be going to drop D or C depending on how flappy the strings feel, but I'm thinking that the other one should suit open D quite well.

I've had a look at Google for open D resources, but the main ones I've seen have either been paid sites or a bit rubbish. Can anyone point me in the direction of some decent open D websites etc? I've never used that tuning before in my life.

electric proddy probe machine

My trading feedback thread

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ToneControlToneControl Frets: 11884
    electric?
  • hobbiohobbio Frets: 3440
    Sorry, should have said. It's an electric on flatwound 12's. I'll probably try out a bit of slide too.

• Youtube lessons are probably the way forward for this, i've had a few books but I found watching worked better for me.

Check out Black Crowes/Rich Robinson. It's mainly open G, but there are a handful of Open D songs too. 'She Talks to Angels' is one. That said, open D and open G are quite close together.

Open D - D/A/D/F#/A/D

Open G - D/G/D/G/B/D

I've never played slide with flats though, so I can't be any help there!

Some more about me, my music and my record label: https://www.linkedin.com/pub/luke-crook/22/18/537

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
    I've never played open G either, so I had no idea that they were so close to each other. I'll deffo check out youtube too.

I'll need to raise the action a bit for slide anyway as it's sat very low, and also get a slide of some description, so that'll probably wait for a bit.

• stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 26927
    Open E, D and G are all easy places to start. Then there's DADGAD and crazier stuff that you'll get sucked into later :D