Dogbreath (HB TE-30 Tele)

What's Hot
NomadNomad Frets: 549
edited April 2015 in Making & Modding

I bought one of these...

http://www.thomann.de/gb/harley_benton_hbt30be_egitarre.htm

...to use as a test platform for learning to wind my own pickups. This was inspired by mrchi's thread, here...

http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/35528/first-hand-wound-pickups-success-at-last-updated/p1

I'm in the process of making the pickup winder, documented here...

http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/36268/pickup-winder-for-mini-lathe

This will be updated as things progress (currently waiting for some bits of metal to arrive).

Why Dogbreath? A dogbreath anything is something that's used for trying stuff out, and is generally reliable and dependable, but maybe doesn't look especially pretty. For example, when I worked in IT many moons ago, we had a dogbreath computer on the network that never had the case on because stuff was always being put in and taken out. A dogbreath guitar can serve a similar purpose - in this case, for testing home-brew pickups. I never name guitars, but I liked the fact that the computer appeared on the network as "Dogbreath", so this guitar will be called Dogbreath.

Regarding mods, I have no specific plans at the moment beyond making the winder and trying the results out on Dogbreath. I have to say that I'm not very keen on the greyish 'blonde' body colour, so I may look into changing that at some point. The maple neck and fingerboard is a bit light, but I'm less keen on messing around with refinishing that. Part of me wants to change the bridge and make the strings through-body instead of top-mounted, and another part wants to mess around with the electrics. Aside from using it to learn about pickup winding, I'd like to try and make it produce a good Telecaster type of sound.

Here's a short review of the guitar as delivered...