Singers in bands Do they make a difference

What's Hot
tonyrathtonyrath Frets: 51

I ask because as a singing teacher I will get someone from time time who wants to improve their voice and than cannot understand it when I say ! You are choking yourself singing like that  2 Drinking that much wrecks your singing 3 Smoking. just no 4 Cannot hear you over the guitar 

I am interested because based on posts here I wonder singers are trouble than they're worth or the public don't care that much. Latest guy is in a covers band who are now getting paid gigs. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• not_the_djnot_the_dj Frets: 7306

They can certainly make a huge difference. But a lot of it is stage presence and confidence/interaction with the audiance rather than just their singing ability.

• spacecadetspacecadet Frets: 671

They can certainly make a huge difference. But a lot of it is stage presence and confidence/interaction with the audiance rather than just their singing ability.

This! I have seen and played with singers who are world class but just stand there and sing. No charisma whatsoeva! Then played with guys (and gals) who sound like they are being anally molested with a rusty umbrella but fill the stage with showmanship.

I have to say though, I smoke like a very smokey thing thats smoking while it smokes and you can most certainly hear me over the guitar. I'm also pretty sure that Richie Sambora smokes like 600 a day and he is a monster singist.
  • tonyrathtonyrath Frets: 51

Thanks I had someone who could not be heard over an acoustic and had not sung for more than 30 minutes. I pointed out to him that if the band takes off - they will be doing longer sets and that he needs more projection. He was a sound hole sucker ie singer guitarist who does not engage with the audience. 
  • digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 26453