Picks - A revelation!

What's Hot
BeexterBeexter Frets: 598

Since I started playing (too many years ago!), I've always stuck with the Yellow Dunlop Tortex picks (.73mm I think). Lately, I've been trying to knuckle down to some regular scale practise with a metronome, trying to improve my speed and technique. For shits and giggles, thought I'd try a different pick - a red Dunlop Jazz III to be exact. Bloody hell - why didn't I try this sooner! It feels so much easier to play - like it' s almost cheating!

The Jazz III just seems so much more nimble, it slips over the strings much easier and just seems so much more precise. Literally, after a few scale runs, I switched back to the Yellow Tortex and it just felt really cumbersome and "sticky" across the strings in comparison.

I'm not sure how the Jazz III will fare for strumming rhythm parts but for picking individual notes, I really like it.

Consequently, I've just ordered about 10 different picks in different materials/ sizes/ shapes and gauges to see if I can find the perfect "all-rounder"

I'm amazed that something as small and cheap as a pick can make such a difference.

Any favourite picks amongst the forum?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• guitarfishbayguitarfishbay Frets: 7960
    edited June 2015
    It might be worth trying the Dunlop T3.  They're the Tortex picks with the tip of the Jazz 3.  I've been using them a lot recently.

I do like Jazz III's but they mess with my technique when switching to play acoustic guitar, strumming etc, when going to normal sized picks so I don't use them at all.