Hondo II project

What's Hot
SkodadadSkodadad Frets: 509
edited November 2015 in Making & Modding
This is a Hondo II I recently traded, it came to me in a fetching mahogany with a Bigsby style tremolo sitting on top of the bridge ferules.
I considered leaving it on after a struggle removing the ferules but it doesn't cover the holes and there is no way I would have the skill to patch it leaving the stripes intact. It also left some screw holes which are a concern after filling as I am not sure how much they will show up after staining (suggestions on either bridge appreciated) I really wanted to do something with the stripes but bottled out, its my first time dealing with stain and I don't want to have to try and remove cockups as sanding took ages! I have shielded all the cavities and have linked them all with a guitar string tucked under the tape, I now have continuity from the edge of the jack socket to the edge of the neck pocket. The neck pocket needs some work as it is too big, I plan on using some strips of veneer in there, I also wants some nice marquetry on the headstock.
I have some white wood stain on its way, I am planning to do the whole body in this as I love that limed look but I may have to pay someone to do the stripes for me. My only worry is the neck has a red hue so may look a bit daft, I plan on fitting all decent hardware and pickups. Doing this has made me want to sand down a Squier Strat body but I am worried what wood is behind the black. Anyway here it is so far: 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• rprrpr Frets: 309
    edited October 2015
    Really not sure if this'll help, but theres a few usefull threads on wood veneering in this section - It would cover the screw holes and the stripes if needed or use contrasting veneer if you want to keep the look.

There actually  quite a few more if you use the search function.

@Andyjr1515 is the man to talk to if you want to go down that route