Is anyone here self taught

What's Hot
Hi Guys,

So when I first started playing I decided to teach myself instead of having lessons, I've been playing now for about a year and have knowledge of scales, chords etc. In this time I decided to try out a couple of lessons from a guitar teacher but at £25.00 an hour. Basically I just want you're opinions on whether its really necessary to take lessons?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10398

I'm self taught but I taught myself certain things the wrong way, meaning there are areas of my technique that are bad habits but almost impossible to correct after all these years. A good teacher would have stopped me early on and pointed these things out. I teach people myself now and are very careful not to let these things go with my students. If you use the correct fingering for piano for example, no matter how unnatural it feels at first it does lead to better speed and accuracy, likewise with guitar. 

Actual music theory can be learnt quite successfully on you own,  especially with the net these days but having  knowledgeable teacher can make learning theory quicker. Also with a teacher you get the opportunity to jam with an actual person .... which isn't exactly like jamming with a band but a lot closer to it than playing over a backing track
    www.2020studios.co.uk 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • derndern Frets: 357
    Just started a thread about lesson structure coincidentally. I'm self-taught but when I started taking lessons the rate at which I learned increased exponentially. Gives you targets to hit too. Definitely recommend lessons if you know what you want from them.
  • JalapenoJalapeno Frets: 6386
    Bit of both - largely self-taught, but every now and again get a few lessons/workshops to cure blind spots or technique issues.
    Imagine something sharp and witty here ......

Feedback