Why are the knobs on the Boss DS-1 wrongly labelled?

thermionicthermionic Frets: 9670
I decided to get a Boss DS-1 recently - a cheap classic that had up until now eluded me. Looking at the various Youtube videos I noticed the knobs are labelled differently to the usual Boss standard (OD-3, SD-1, BD-2) of Level on the left, Distortion/Drive on the right and Tone being the small knob in the middle, lower down. Hmmm, I'll have to remember, if I get one, that the Tone and Level knobs are swapped over compared to what I'm used to.

I picked one up at a bargainous price here in the classifieds. As soon as I started playing with it, I realised the left big knob was Level after all and the small middle one was Tone, like the other Boss pedals. I put the mislabelling down to a historical quirk, or a mistake which Boss didn't change.

However, I've just went back to look at a couple of YouTube videos where it's clear that it's the small middle knob which changes the level and tone is the larger left hand knob. So it looks like all the pedals are labelled the same way but some have the knob functions matching while others are "swapped". In all my research about MIJ/MIT versions, all the different mods I could do etc I never caught any mention of this.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• SassafrasSassafras Frets: 30301
    That means it's probably worth a fortune to a collector.
  • gubblegubble Frets: 1751

Has someone gone to the immense bother of re-wiring it?

Both of my DS-1's have the tone on the left hand big knob and they both control the tone. ONe is an early one , the other is a very recent one

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72525
    Someone has modded it. All stock DS-1s I've ever played have the knobs corresponding to the labelling.

But I understand entirely why someone would do it, since the tone knob is the one you want to set - very accurately, and then be careful not to knock it - and the level is the one you want to adjust.