Learning Notes on the Fretboard

What's Hot
andypandyp Frets: 332
Hi folks.

I've been learning for 18 months now and am still making really good, noticeable progress and my motivation to keep learning is as high as ever. But I really want to get into learning theory to go with my practice so that I can hopefully apply this to come up with my own stuff as well as just learn scales and songs I know etc. I do make up wee riffs and stuff already though, but very limited ones and I'm hoping that learning theory would open things out much more for me.

One of the key goals I've had is to learn the notes on the board and I still can't find a good way of doing this to make it interesting. I just count up the neck saying the notes and get bored after no time at all. Is there a more interesting way to do this? I downloaded JustinGuitar's app for this but even then I find it hard work to actually apply myself to do it.

I think i just need to suck it up and old-school memorise this stuff... but it would be great if anyone had any tips to help me along.

Thanks.

Andy
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33725
    edited June 2016
    There is a game attributed to Pat Metheny that helps with this.

Set your phone to its stopwatch (or use a stopwatch) and nominate one note (let's say Eb).
    You have to locate all of the Eb notes on the fingerboard.
    Once you've done it record your time.
    Go through the rest of the intervals over time.

It is a good idea to do it in small chunks- so doing this exercise with one interval x 5 times a day is better than sitting down and doing it for an hour and then not doing it again for a week.

Don't rush- although you are timing yourself you won't do yourself any favours if you don't work through this logically and methodically.
    You an count up from the open strings, or use octaves as locaters- whatever works.