Simple/cheap/basic recording

What's Hot
I have a guitar; and a bass guitar. I also have a reasonable bass amp, but no guitar amp, I've just been using the bass amp with the tone controls suitably tweaked and if I want a bit of distortion, I have a Boss MD-2 and OS-2 pedals, though to be honest I hardly ever use them. Its just home use at the moment, and I'm just learning guitar (although played bass for ages).

Now what I'd like to do is record 1 track of guitar, then play it back while playing/recording another track. For example track 1 might be a simple rhythm track with some chords, where track 2 is a little bit of noodling/improvisation over the top. Later on I might want to get a bit more adventurous and also add a bass track and possibly (electronic) drums.

I have a laptop, so I was thinking I could buy an audio interface, for example:

http://www.dawsons.co.uk/presonus-audiobox-ione-usb-audio-interface

It seems that most/all of these come with a basic DAW already, I'd probably be happy with this for my modest needs. I'm reasonably confident that the interface would happily accept the instrument input from the guitar and bass and record it fine, however the laptop speakers aren't going to do any justice, so ideally I'd also like to use the "monitor output" to connect to the amplifier I have, to give a fuller sound. I'm not bothered about exact tonal reproduction, just something that sounds reasonably alike the guitar etc. How do I convert the "balanced monitor output" from one of these interfaces to the instrument input on the amplifier?

I know (well think, 99% sure) that a looper pedal would allow me to do similar but seems more sensible to dip my toes into digital recording on the computer to offer more flexibility later (ie adding some drums).

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ChrisRGChrisRG Frets: 55