Short Scale Basses - now NBD

What's Hot
dindudedindude Frets: 8537
edited March 2017 in Bass
I think I'm gonna be in the market soon for a very cheap bass just to lay down some lines when recording (which is just home noodlin stuff really). As my man-cave hasn't room to swing a cat and as I'm a guitarist through and through, I was thinking of a short scale - prob a 30".

What do they sound like though, I.e. What is the compromise in tone for having something easier to play and swing around?

I'd probably be looking at the Ibanez Talman shortscale or the new Squier Jag bass shortscale.

Any experiences appreciated, this bass lark has me out of my depth!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• BridgehouseBridgehouse Frets: 24579
    Short scales do have a distinctly different tone. They can have less sustain and be more 'plunky' for want of a better word.

To be honest, I don't think the scale length difference will really help. If you are worried about the feel of it as a primarily guitar based player, then I would suggest low tension strings on a full scale. The neck width and feel will make more of a difference as a guitarist.

Depends on the sound you are after. Want that classic bass thump? Get a Precision. Want something more rounded and defined - like a Motown or funk sort of sound? Get a Jazz. Or you could get a PJ which is a bit of both. 

I would go with a Squier Affinity or something in that range - or maybe one of the Yamaha lower range ones - all great basses. The Squiers tend to have thinner necks which you will appreciate more. 

Or or you could strike up a friendship with a friendly bass player and get them to put lines down to your noodling - bass players are often on the lookout for projects they can do at home to play along with!
  • dindudedindude Frets: 8537