Learning Psychobilly style Guitar

What's Hot
LaGartonLaGarton Frets: 3
Hi all,

I'm still new to guitar after buying my first one (Freshman Renegade Folk) in August last year but I sort of lost motivation after a few months but picked it back up at the beginning of this year. I'm still currently learning chords and I don't want to learn deep theory stuff but I'd love to be able to play psychobilly style guitar. If people don't know this style its a mixture of rockabilly and surf music but heavier sounding with horror influences.

Heres a link to the first proper psychobilly band The Meteors on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FdBDldKgiiA Another more rock style example is here from Batmobile: http://https//www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ttecOi8_Xw

Any help on this matter is really appreciated and mods please move this thread if its in the wrong place!
Lloyd
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• xpia98jfxpia98jf Frets: 309
    Learn some blues progressions, add some Chuck Berry shuffle rhythm and Bob's yer auntie!
  • stonevibestonevibe Frets: 7142
    Listen to Poison Ivy and cop her 'Chuck' licks.

Win a Cort G250 SE Guitar in our Guitar Bomb Free UK Giveaway 

• DulcetJonesDulcetJones Frets: 515
    stonevibe said:
    This.  And in case you don't know, Poison Ivy was the guitarist in the Cramps, a psychobilly band if there  ever was one.  She was also quite a babe in the 80's.

“Theory is something that is written down after the music has been made so we can explain it to others”– Levi Clay

• pintspillerpintspiller Frets: 994
    Get some trem, reverb, delay and echo pedals. 
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • LaGartonLaGarton Frets: 3
    pia98jf said:
    Learn some blues progressions, add some Chuck Berry shuffle rhythm and Bob's yer auntie!
    Pia, thanks for the advice. Blues progressions I'm guessing can be learnt from online but how could I learn shuffle rhythms?