Do I still need a DI box if...

What's Hot
LongtallronnieLongtallronnie Frets: 1198
...my mixer had a Hi Z input?

I'm using an Alesis multimix for acoustic gigs and one channel had a Hi Z switch for use with guitars etc. 
Would I be better off using a dedicated DI box into a regular line level input or would it make no difference? 
I'm still learning how to use the mixer and discovering new things it can do every day so expect more questions soon!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72304
    If you're near to the mixer and you're not using any sort of unit which is grounded/earthed, it should be fine to use the Hi-Z input. It becomes more of a problem with long cable runs, which tend to pick up noise, or if you have something driving it which is mains-powered and has no ground lift.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• As above should be fine,  just don't overload the input of the channel with your guitar and be careful with levels as a mismatch can introduce unwanted noise very quickly on these units
    www.maltingsaudio.co.uk
  • All cables are as short as possible but I do run a Line 6 M9 into the aux send/return of the mixer so I can use the looper on vocals and guitar. 
    I'll start another thread about that though as I've several more questions regarding setups. 

Thanks for for the advice, I'm thinking a DI box probably won't be necessary but might be useful in conjunction with how I plug other gear into the mixer.