Getting ready to play lead?

What's Hot
NiallseroreillyNiallseroreilly Frets: 504
edited June 2017 in Technique
Im a decent enough guitarist, played for a while. Played in an acoustic band for a while and i sing decently enough. 

But my aim would be to get my lead chops up to a high standard in order to play lead/rhythm in a good function band.

I saw one of the players on here posting a nice setlist with up tempo disco tracks and i copied them onto a word document.

My goal would be to learn said tracks over the next year or so and then at that stage i feel like i could put myself out there.

Any advice from experience lead players how i should approach learning the tracks for prospective bands?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RockerRocker Frets: 4941
    Get out there and play.  Play anywhere you can.  It is not important to be highly skilled before you try.  My advice is to get out there and play.  Enjoy.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. [Albert Einstein]

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • BradBrad Frets: 658
    edited June 2017
    Rocker said:
    Get out there and play.  Play anywhere you can.  It is not important to be highly skilled before you try.  My advice is to get out there and play.  Enjoy.
    +1

It's a little like driving. It's only once you've passed the test and you're out on your own that you really learn to drive. Get out there and play, have fun, make mistakes, learn from them. You'll get better quicker by doing so.