Such A Thing As 'Bad Habits' For Playing Guitar?

What's Hot
AlexCAlexC Frets: 2396
edited September 2017 in Theory
Bought a guitar recently from an independent shop. The guy that ran the place makes most of his money from teaching - he had a kid playing Apache in there while I was browsing. Anyway, we got to talking (obviously) and he said a couple of things I'm stil scratching my head over but couldn't be arsed picking him up on, but one in particular...
I told him I was mostly self taught (as in never paid for or been to formal lessons) and he said the 'trouble with that is you develop bad habits.' 
Eh? I' ve been playing and gigging for 37 years and I'm not bothered by criticism but what exactly is a bad habit? I get that trained classical players are taught how to sit, which finger hits which note etc, but surely part of the pleasure of rock and pop and everything inbetween is everyone develops their own style. It's the sound you produce not how you go about achieving it IMO. So what is a bad habit? Am I missing something? Do you agree with this guy, or think all is fair in self expression?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• IMO the only thing that needs to be corrected post-haste would be things which cause pain (or will end up doing so - like really crooked wrists). On the other hand, informing a beginner that never using their pinky might limit them in the long run is not quite as mandatory, but I'm sure would be appreciated...
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 6reaction image Wisdom
  • bbill335bbill335 Frets: 1368
    I guess things like holding a pick wrong constitutes a bad habit. I use the round edge to soften the attack but I have a hard time using a pick "properly".

It irks me when I see players holding a pick with a closed hand/fist. It looks really amateurish and, as said above, it can't help with having a loose, comfortable wrist.