Surreal discovery about my guitar picks...

What's Hot
chrishill901chrishill901 Frets: 516
edited April 2018 in Off Topic
So theres a bit of a back story here but bear with me. I took my Mum to see Alice Cooper back in November. Now I've never caught a thing at a gig but that day was meant to be. My Mum is a huge Alice Cooper fan and I caught her his stick, along with a dollar bill from Billion Dollar Babies. I also caught a Nita Strauss guitar pick but I kept that for myself. When I got home I used it and was really impressed. Its a 0.6mm pick by Grover Allman. Im not normally a thin pick guy but this pick had the warmth of a thick tortex with the attack or a thinner pick and the custom paint job on it gives it great grip (Nita talks about them in Sweetwaters rig run down released the other day)

When I googled it I found the site and saw that designing my own cost the same as buying them plain so I decided to try my hand at designing a guitar pick - I'm a digital designer, mainly working in animation so it wasn't too far away from what I do although it was my first time using Adobe Illustrator. I decided the shape of the pick lent itself to my favourite thing of all time ever, pizza. So I designed the pizza pick. I even put a little bite mark in the pizza which was a personal in-joke with a friend who once dared to bite my pizza that I left in the fridge with a passive aggressive note warning against such activity. She had bitten an almost cartoon like bite out of the side of it, and I still haven't forgiven her.

https://i.imgur.com/s7hfZmf.jpg

Grover Allman instagrammed a picture of them when they were complete and tagged Nita Strauss on her birthday, something along the lines of 'have some pizza on us' totally unaware that she was the inspiration behind the pick. What's more, she commented saying she liked them and might want some in the new year! I waited for my inbox to fill but it never happened.