I got my first router today, God help me!

What's Hot
A handheld jobbie. i shall be taking it very easy and testing things on scraps before I go anywhere near my guitars.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Embrace it don't fear it......and yes....maybe start routing on scrapwood before progressing  to guitar bodies. Have fun.
  • RolandRoland Frets: 8684
    Which one did you get? What cutters have you got with it?
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
  • I got a cheapo as i won't be doing much with it to be fair. It's a copy of a Bosch (I think) by a Chinese firm called KATSO (or something like that). It doesn't come with any bits, so I'll pick them up as I go along.
  • IvisonGuitarsIvisonGuitars Frets: 6838
    tFB Trader
    I remember getting my first router well, it was a lot of fun!

Just make sure you wear your safety gear and, as an old woodworker I once knew told me “The rule about Power Tools (and life in general) is never put your fingers anywhere you wouldn’t put your knob...”
    http://www.ivisonguitars.com
    (formerly miserneil)
    3reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • BigMonkaBigMonka Frets: 1769
    I got a cheapo as i won't be doing much with it to be fair. It's a copy of a Bosch (I think) by a Chinese firm called KATSO (or something like that). It doesn't come with any bits, so I'll pick them up as I go along.
    The little Katsu routers get a lot of love on woodworking forums, although I hear they're quite loud.
    Have fun, a router is a great (but scary) tool!
    Always be yourself! Unless you can be Batman, in which case always be Batman.
    My boss told me "dress for the job you want, not the job you have"... now I'm sat in a disciplinary meeting dressed as Batman.