Art Theory

What's Hot
Drew_TNBDDrew_TNBD Frets: 22445

Artist Statement

My work explores the relationship between consumerist fetishism and life as performance.

With influences as diverse as Derrida and L Ron Hubbard, new insights are created from both mundane and transcendant discourse.

Ever since I was a student I have been fascinated by the ephemeral nature of the universe. What starts out as triumph soon becomes corrupted into a hegemony of greed, leaving only a sense of failing and the dawn of a new understanding.

As intermittent phenomena become frozen through studious and academic practice, the viewer is left with an insight into the limits of our condition.

5reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• SporkySporky Frets: 29033
    Well, at least it didn't involve the phrase "inspired by nature".
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • CirrusCirrus Frets: 8497
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • bingefellerbingefeller Frets: 5723
    Sounds like pretentious wank.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • ESBlondeESBlonde Frets: 3597
    Sounds like pretentious wank.
    Yea but a wank none the less, so bonus.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Steve922Steve922 Frets: 38
    I find particular value in such work if the insights are created from both mundane and transcendant discourse simultaneously. I find so often they arrive from just one such esoteric source at a time.
  • axisusaxisus Frets: 28353
    Artists are basically whacko nut jobs, yet despite this, they have an innate ability to make people proffer money for their output in the face of no discernible presence of quality.
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17854
    tFB Trader