Pentatonic 'discovery'..?

What's Hot
HansiRHansiR Frets: 28
Hi Guys... I'm probably stating the obvious here and it will probably make a few of you laugh (or cry!) but as I'm just starting out on learning how to play lead guitar after 50 years of chords, this seems to be a big breakthrough for me... so... I've been messing around with the minor pentatonic (not to mention filling my head with hidden triads, riffs, major pentatonic, 3, 4, 5, 6, note leads, boxes, modes, etc. etc.),sometimes getting totally lost but at the same time slowly making my way into the mysterious world of playing leads in tune, when I discovered (I say "discovered" as I have never seen or heard about this in any of the hundreds of videos that I've watched!) that if I, say, take the 1st minor pentatonic position starting on the low 'E' string at the  5th (A) fret, and I play 5 -8, then 5 - 7 on the' A' string, and then 5 - 7 on the 'D' string, that last 7th fret being the (A) octave, I discovered that, instead of going straight across the neck and playing the usual 'shape' ( 5-8,5-7,5-7,5-7,5-8,5-8)  I can instead repeat that same sequence from that same 7th fret on the 'D' string and play 7 - 10, then 7 - 9 on the 'G' string, then 8 - 10 on the 'B' string, another (A) octave reached... then 10 - 13 on the 'B' string, then 10 - 12 - 15 - 17 on the high 'E' string to reach a 3rd (A) octave... I have watched many videos showing how to break out of the box and get away from simply playing across the neck and back again, and play diagonally up the neck but I haven't seen this actually explained, that you can repeat the same sequence (3, 2, 2, etc. until you reach the high 'E' string and run out of notes!) and that you can do this starting from any root note and repeat it, up or down the neck depending where you are, from each root note octave... this has not only started to teach me where the root note octaves are, it's also opened up the neck and given me a wider area to play around in. So now,