The secret to good tone is...

What's Hot

Comments

• Is it no wonder that we cannot agree on what the key to good tone is, as there is so many different answers, and yet no one can say any of them is wrong, well apart from lucky pants =D>
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • richardhomerrichardhomer Frets: 24797
    koneguitarist;205168" said:
    Is it no wonder that we cannot agree on what the key to good tone is, as there is so many different answers, and yet no one can say any of them is wrong, well apart from lucky pants =D>
    Strings as well...
  • Dave_McDave_Mc Frets: 2346
    ICBM said:
    jellyroll said:
    I'm just a novice and am prepared to be wrong......but aren't the above posts referring to timing/dynamics/musicality/something else when saying tone is in the fingers? Isn't tone about the quality of the sound .......which is primarily a function of the equipment?
    Yes and no. It's a complex and probably inseparable combination of the two.

If you give two different players the exact same equipment and set it the same, they can often sound very different in tone as well as playing - even just on a single held note or chord… remarkably so. There really is a 'hand tone' which is separate from anything to do with the equipment, even if you take the phrasing etc out of the equation.

Equally if you give the same player two completely different set-ups, the result can be a very different sound. So there is a 'gear tone' which is separate from anything to do with the player.
    Agreed. I tend to separate "gear" tone and "finger" tone- though the two obviously interact and as you said, it's complicated.

It also depends on how you're trying to sound- if I try to dial in two different guitars and amps to sound similar they'll sound a lot closer than if I dial them in to accentuate their differences (which is more or less what you're saying in the post above).
  • KerpunkKerpunk Frets: 75